Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 22nd, 2010

Quelle Weekend!

(Subtitle: What a weekend!)

This weekend was a whirlwind of knife skills and dough!  After Friday’s disappointing turn at dessert, I wasn’t exactly excited or confident that I could handle any other baking or baking-related activity, and lucky me, that’s what I had planned for Saturday afternoon.

I headed home on Saturday for a lesson in Foley-Family bread making. (That would be my Mom’s side of the family.) I’ve watched my Mom make bread a hundred times, but I’ve never actually done it myself.  This is the real deal people, no bread machine!! It’s harder than I thought it was going to be, it also didn’t help that we threw in the kitchen sink in terms of grains and seeds.  My Mom’s approach is not very scientific but it sure works.

And, I’m sorry a million times over, I forgot to bring my camera home, but I will make bread again and next time I will properly document, pinky swear.

 For the recipe and notes, see here.  We also tried our hand at home-made granola bars, but they weren’t yet cooled by the time my train was leaving, so I’ll have to wait to try them.

Read Full Post »

Friday Night Bites

Salmon Burgers, Oven Fries, and the Best (worst) Chocolate Pudding

No meat on Fridays means about 6 weeks of seafood or vegetarian inspired meals for that night.  This week I went with salmon and used a recipe I had tried awhile ago. 

I subscribe to Everyday Food and absolutely love it.  For a lot of people I know it may be simple or boring, but I find it’s very accessible and the food looks great in the magazine and there’s something in every issue that I want to make, I have a stack of old ones in my cupboard earmarked for what I want to make next! 

It was another night of good food, and Olympics, though I don’t really remember what was on.  I’m pretty sure B liked the burger…

Gone in 60 seconds

For the rest, including the disaster dessert was, head over to What’s Cookin’.

Read Full Post »